Cookies help us improve your website experience. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
The U.S. Climate Alliance is a bipartisan coalition of governors committed to reducing greenhouse gas emissions consistent with the goals of the Paris Agreement—the global agreement dealing with greenhouse gas emissions mitigation. In response to the U.S. federal government’s decision to withdraw the United States from the Paris Agreement, Governors Andrew Cuomo (NY), Jay Inslee (WA), and Jerry Brown (CA) launched the United States Climate Alliance with the understanding that coordinated state action can ensure that the United States continues to contribute to the global effort to address climate change. Currently 24 states and Puerto Rico have joined the Alliance and the list continues to grow.

 Each Member State commits to:

  • Implement policies that advance the goals of the Paris Agreement, aiming to reduce greenhouse gas emissions by at least 26-28 percent below 2005 levels by 2025
  • Track and report progress to the global community in appropriate settings, including when the world convenes to take stock of the Paris Agreement
  • Accelerate new and existing policies to reduce carbon pollution and promote clean energy deployment at the state and federal level

For a list of the U.S. Climate Alliance participating states, go to